All The More Reason


Roughly how old is the earth?
July 1, 2007, 5:10 pm
Filed under: Education, Science

The title of this post, amongst with other basic science questions, is yours for the taking at the Observer. I really enjoyed the following response from “Scientist author” Susan Greenfield:

Oh blimey. Well, I know that human beings have been going for about a million and a half years, so … I’m just grasping here. Something like 60 billion years or something like that, but that’s a grasp. I’m not a physical scientist and it shows. I’m probably not scientifically literate.

Indeed.

J.S.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

This made me laugh, in a ‘there but for the grace of God go I’ sort of way:

‘Why is the sky blue?’

“Kirsty Wark: Because it’s a reflection of the oceans on the planet. No idea apart from that. I think the sky is blue because… the rain clouds obscure the blue, and the blue is a reflection… because of the sunshine. Fuck! I don’t know! Why is the sky blue?”

Comment by allthemorereason

Yes, kudos to those that had the courage to partake in the panel.

Comment by J.S.




Leave a Reply

