All The More Reason


Eggcorns
September 1, 2007, 10:40 pm
Filed under: Language

Eggcorns are the “spontaneous reshapings of known expressions”. Wikipedia has an entry on it here. I have to say I notice these all the time in regular speech, and am probably doing it myself as well. For example, I heard a woman say “tempt faith” instead of “tempt fate”. She had the briefest of hesitations before going with “faith”, which was rather suspenseful to watch. I say “down the pipe” instead of “down the pike” even though the latter is supposedly in existence longer. Also, where I live halfhazard rules the roost over haphazard.

J.S.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I knew somebody who used to say “in a way” instead of “anyway.”

Comment by renaissanceguy




Leave a Reply

